Awkward Experiment #3: Facebook Colonic Cleanse

Honestly, this isn’t about me being truly ANTI Facebook or any form social media for that matter.  I just know that at this time in my life, compulsively scrolling through pictures of “friends” who (well, according to status updates and photos anyway) are living these amazing and dynamic lives whilst I sit alone working on my 4th glass of wine is…  well… not exactly healthy.

Also, I really want to re-familiarize myself with what “friend” actually means.

Experiment:

  • Just deactivated my Facebook account!
  • Going “dark” for at least 3 months – might reactivate December or next year, might not!

I’m sure I’ll have a withdrawal or several as a result, but I’m already taking comfort in the fact that I will be sparing myself those lovely instances wherein I log on only to receive that rude slap-in-the-face that comes courtesy with finding out yet ANOTHER friend, frenemy or EX is engaged!  Yes, I know how small this makes me sound, I also know that a little self-protection at this time in my life is the right call.

~ by awkwardalienchick on August 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
